"Play is the highest form of research". Albert Einstein
The Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines are based on current knowledge of theory and scientific research about how children develop and learn. The guidelines reflect the growing consensus among early childhood educators that an emphasis be placed on young children's conceptual  learning, acquisition of basic skills, and participation in meaningful, relevant learning experiences.
Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines:
Prekindergarten Guildlines
Full Day Schedule

Harlingen CISD offers a full day program allowing children the opportunity to learn  and explore. Our full day program includes instruction in the following areas: Social and Emotional Development, Language and Communication, Emergent Literacy Reading, Emergent Literacy Writing, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Fine Arts, Physical Development and Health, and Technology.

Sample of a daily schedule: 

Opening the World of Learning (OWL)
Opening the World of Learning is a state approved comprehensive curriculum that cover all of the the Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines. Each unit of study is built around a daily routine and center based activities. Children's fiction and nonfiction trade books are used to teach themes, skills, and concepts.
Language and Literacy for Young Learners

Every prekindergarten classroom strives to create high language and literacy environments that promote the prerequisite literacy skills. Classroom instruction focuses on developing such skills as oral language, phonological awareness, and letter recognition. Children who develop this vital literacy skills are on the road to reading success. Teachers enhance their classroom instruction with Language Literacy for Young Learners  developed by the Neuhuas Education Center an organization dedicated to promoting reading success. 

Early Explorers

Science instruction in prekindergarten classrooms is enhanced with STEMscopes Early Explorer, a science curriculum designed by Rice University to meet state and national prekindergarten standards. During the twelve modules of instruction include Habitats, Objects in the Sky, Forces, Life Cycles, Properties of Matter, Food Sources, Caring for Our Earth, Sun's Heat, Basic Needs, Food as Energy, Weather Patterns, and the Five Senses. These modules are taught through hands on learning experiences through a center based format.